Bella Italia brings inspiration & adventure

This Spring, I spent two weeks in Italy enrolled in professional development courses at La Meridiana, an international school of ceramic art.  Set in idyllic Tuscan countryside within a restored 15th century farmhouse, the school is highly recognized and a true heaven to create in!

As a professional potter, it’s always important for me to continue to learn new techniques and styles.  The course I chose was White Earth-Red Earth: Expressions in Porcelain and Bucchero.  I’d been immediately drawn to the course offering in Bucchero, an ancient Etruscan ceramic process involving smoke-fired terracotta.

The studio experience was both stimulating and relaxing – and the setting was spectacular as you’ll see from the photo gallery below. It was an incredibly refreshing experience, creating my Bucchero and porcelain pieces. Some of thems were translucent and paper thin, others dark as night. I could have stayed there for an eternity, living the Tuscan lifestyle and creating art!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My sister joined me at the end of my course, and we travelled around italy making new friends, tasting delicious food and taking in the incredible architecture and countryside. Oh yes, and I managed to get most of my handmade treasures home in one piece on the long journey from Italy to Newfoundland.

UPDATE: Wendy will be presenting a public sesion about this experience at The Clay Studio in Fall 2012. Visit http://www.craftcouncil.nl.ca/clay-studio/ for the specifics on dates and times. Admission is free.

Leave a Reply

