Bonavista Bound

Bonavista waterfront. Copyright: CapeRace.com

This weekend, I’m back in my hometown of Bonavista, Newfoundland, with all the traditional scenery:  icebergs, fishing boats, fields and oceans. I’m spending time with my family and drawing inspiration from reconnecting with “home” after so long away.

I was particularly inspired by meeting a seafaring relative who’ll soon be off to Greenland on a turbot fishing vessel. I’m designing a large bowl for the Craft Council’s Annual Members Exhibition that I’ll be featured in. Now I’ve found a motif – turbot tumbling in northern seas.

Here’s a shot of me handpainting the fish on the bisqued bowl interior. Thanks to my equally crafty and amazing Mom for taking this photo of the creative process.

I love this part, as you can tell!

Have you ever been to Bonavista? Leave me a comment in the comment section below if you have anything to share or ask. I’d be happy to hear from you!

2 thoughts on “Bonavista Bound

  1. Hi, Wendy, I’m glad to see that the move to St John’s has increased your creativity! And I’m glad to think from your writing that you love your job and where you are. Next time you’re home in Bonavista, look up my sister, Joyce Morouney. She’s new there, moved down from Labrador (Hopedale) and working with social services. I imagine you just have to ask someone and they’ll tell you where she lives. Take good care, and I look forward to seeing what you have in the Titanica show.
    Best Regards,
    Bob

    • Bob, so good to hear from you! Thanks for the kind words and I’ll definitely look Joyce up the next time I’m out home. I hope you and R are doing well — I use her cup all the time and I admire your print. Both are permanent fixtures in my flat.

Leave a Reply

